Presenting: the 2016 Technology in Music Education cohort

For obvious reasons, one of my favourite subjects to teach at the Sydney Conservatorium is “Technology in Music Education”. In fact, it’s the course that lead to my development of the first of five MOOCs on the Coursera platform, The place of music in 21st century education.

As in 2013 and 2015, I’m pleased to present to you the 2016 cohort. The course divides fairly evenly into theory and practice, so on their blogs you’ll find lecture notes about using technology in the music classroom but also about current issues, philosophies, pedagogies and the latest research in the field. Some students prefer to remain anonymous which is their choice.

Name URL (website address) Twitter handle
James Humberstone www.composerhome.com @JamesHumbers
Anonymous  https://musicedtechsite.wordpress.com/
 Holly  https://hollymusiceducationblog.wordpress.com/
 Willson Duong  https://willsonduongwordpress.wordpress.com/
 Sonia Sze  https://soniaszemusic.wordpress.com  @soniasze11
 Lilliane Kamel http://lillianekamel.wixsite.com/tech-in-music-ed
 James Walder  https://jameswaldermusic.wordpress.com/
 Natalie Gooneratne  https://natgoontech.wordpress.com/
 Matthew Colucci  https://coluccimusiced.wordpress.com  @Coluccimusic
 Anonymous student  https://prestoeducationblog.wordpress.com 
 Sara Nguyen  https://saranewin.wordpress.com/
 Ellen Pauperis  https://ellenpauperis.wordpress.com/
 Gabrielle Hiu  https://musicalhiu.wordpress.com/
 Sasha Stocken  http://sashastocken.wixsite.com/plntechinmused
 Anonymous student  https://musiceducationreflections.wordpress.com/
 Michelle Young  https://myoungmusictech.wordpress.com/
 Aleksandar Stojanovic  https://alektrotech.wordpress.com/
 Amber Johnson  https://ambermareemusic.wordpress.com/  @ambermareemusic
 Emma Dunn  https://emmajanemusicblog.wordpress.com/  
 Cassandra Cordero  https://keysandcassettes.co.vu
 Anonymous student  https://yoshimued.wordpress.com/
 Panagiotis Karamanos  https://pkaramanosblog.wordpress.com/
 Elyse Hardiman  https://elysehardiman.wordpress.com/
 Alex Hone  http://honealex.wixsite.com/appollosplaylist
 Michael Paton https://michaelpatonmusic.wordpress.com/  @mpaton94
 Paolo Torresan  https://paolotorresanmusic.wordpress.com/

Students are now all (well, most) on prac, but I’m sure they’d love comments on their blogs. Expect the action to hot up later in the month as they start work toward their negotiated project… and you can see where all this thinking goes, creatively!

6 thoughts on “Presenting: the 2016 Technology in Music Education cohort”

Please, have your say.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s